Log in

No account? Create an account

The World Of Plumlipstick

Life In Many Shades

Monica Willyard
External Services:
  • plumlipstick@livejournal.com
  • DuchessRhyami
  • rhyami
Hi. My name is Monica, and it's great to meet you. I'm looking forward to getting to know you and am glad you're visiting my journal. :) I'm a 36-year-old single, Christian woman, living in the U.S. I'm a mom, and I own a small business. My family and friends are important to me, and I spend a lot of my free time with them. I like the flexibility that comes with owning a small business and would like to get to know other moms and business owners to share both encouragement and ideas.

Volunteering is very important to me, and I spend several hours a week scanning books for Bookshare, a service that makes books available to blind people in a form they can read. I am also very active on Paperback Swap. http://plumlipstick.paperbackswap.com will show you my book shelf and wish list. If you use that service, please send me a message and say hello.

When I'm not working or volunteering, I enjoy picnics, walking in the park, and visiting coffee houses with friends. Informal dinner parties and backyard barbecues really ring my bell. I enjoy outdoor concerts and attending guest lectures by authors at our local bookstore and library. I like to read, prefering mysteries, westerns, Christian fiction, books about true crime, books about technology, biographies, history, cookbooks, books on travel, health and nutrition, and motivational books. Zig Ziglar, Brian Tracy, and John C. Maxwell inspire me with their practical advice and memorable stories.

I like to cook and bake. Julia Child was one of my heroes growing up. I love to have people around me and really have fun with entertaining. I'm famous for making great chili and a chocolate peanut butter mousse for dessert. :)

I like a wide range of music but find that I tend to gravitate toward country, Christian, and soft rock most of the time. My idea of a nice night alone is when I can curl up with a cup of hot tea and a good mystery. However, if given the choice, I'd rather spend the evening with my daughter and friends.

My idea of the perfect vacation would be a week in a log cabin nestled in the Smoky Mountains with my daughter or a nice cottage by the sea and a quiet beach. Most of all, I like to spend time working in my church and hanging out with my daughter, friends, and parents. My church, my family, and God are the most important people in my life.