?

Log in

Previous Entry | Next Entry

Learn To Use Facebook Tonight

Hi everyone. I’m writing to invite you to a round table chat taking place this evening about learning how Facebook works. There is a steadily growing community of blind people on Facebook as well as people with other disabilities. We’ll talk about the easiest ways to use Facebook, how to find your friends, what kinds of things you’ll find on Facebook, and we’ll touch briefly on how Facebook is being used for outreach by nonprofit organizations similar to Bookshare. You will learn how to join business networks to link up with coworkers and get a better grasp of how social media sites impact your work life too. And let’s be honest. Facebook is just a great way to have fun with your buddies at the end of the day.

If this sounds interesting to you, please join us. Everyone is welcome no matter whether you’re new to computers or have two or three computer science degrees. See below for details.

Who: Everyone

When: tonight, 2/3/2009 at 6 PM Pacific, 7 PM Mountain, 8 PM Central, and 9 PM Eastern

Where: Point your browser to the OurPlace chat area

Once you get there, look for the Politics Room and hit enter. You will be
at the place where you must either download software or choose to enter the
room. This is Talking Communities software just like what you may have used at the Friends Of Bookshare chats. If you have not downloaded the software in the past few weeks, go ahead and do it when you get to the Politics Room. There is a new version of the conference software with better accessibility in it, and it sounds better too.

Once you choose to enter the Politics Room, you will be sent to another page
where you should enter your real name . You are asked for a password but
you do not need one. Just tab to okay and hit enter. That should place you
in the Politics Room with the rest of us. The way to talk
using your mike is to press the control key. You’ll hear a little beep when it’s your turn to talk. If you do not have a mike, you can still participate by typing
text messages to the group. Mac users can hear the discussion but can only type text messages for now. We hope that will change soon. I look forward to seeing all of you later. We’re going to have fun tonight.

Comments

( 1 comment — Leave a comment )
johnmill79
Feb. 4th, 2009 04:01 am (UTC)
I wish I'd heard this. I use Facebook all the time, but it couldn't hurt to learn more.
( 1 comment — Leave a comment )

Let's Talk

Follow me on Twitter for the latest news from the PlumLipstick universe.

Page Summary

Latest Month

February 2009
S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
Powered by LiveJournal.com